Department News

Fallen officers honored

The names of two Tyngsborough police officers who died in the line of duty were added to the Massachusetts Law Enforcement Memorial site in Boston during a ceremony on Friday September 24.

The ceremony took place at Ashburton Park on the Statehouse grounds.

Chief Joseph Pelletier, died in pursuit of a bootlegger during Prohibition in 1926, and Officer John “Jack” Georges, a 22-year veteran of the force suffered a heart attack during shift on May 8, 2007.

This is the 24th annual MLEMF ceremony which will pay tribute to 319 fellow Commonwealth officers, including the Tyngsboro officers and seven more whose names are also being added  Capt. Richard Cashin, state police (2009); Officer Michael Davey, Weymouth (2009); Officer Michael Towner, Worcester; Chief James Vaughn, Carver (1908); Constable Albert Miller, Oxford (1909); Officer Samuel Pierce, Falmouth (1933); Officer George Nowak, Danvers (1993).

MLEMF Executive Director, Chief Edward Merrick of Plainville said, “This year will have additional significance as we rededicate the refurbished memorial and recognize the efforts of the late Chief Paul Doherty and David Balfour, Sr. in developing and bringing the memorial to fruition.”

TPD Honour Guard in Boston

Tyngsborough PD Honour Guard on Beacon Hill | Deputy Chief Richard Burrows TPD Photo

From Local Media & TPD Staff Reports